BYLAWS

Optical Science and Engineering Program University of New Mexico

July 2003

The Optical Science and Engineering (OSE) Program offers Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Optical Science and Engineering. It is a joint program between the Departments of Physics and Astronomy (*P&A*) and Electrical and Computer Engineering (*EECE*).

- (a) The OSE program is administered by the Optical Science and Engineering
 Graduate Committee. The committee consists of three tenured or tenure-track optics
 faculty members from each department (i.e. the total number of voting members is 6).
 (b) The committee members are appointed by the chairs of the respective
 departments. Preference should be given to the regular optics faculty members who
 are involved in the teaching of the program's core courses.
- 2. The OSE Graduate Committee meetings as well as Optics Faculty General Meetings are open to all faculty from both departments. In particular, the participation of all other Optics Faculty members is encouraged.
- **3.** The *Optics Faculty* are defined as the UNM faculty with research or teaching interests and qualifications that comprise optical science and engineering, irrespective of their home department.
- 4. There will be at least one General Meeting of all the Optics Faculty every year.
- **5.** (a) There will be two *Co-Chairs* of the OSE Graduate Committee, appointed by the chairs of the respective departments in consultation with the optics faculty within that department.
 - **(b)** The Co-Chair appointments are for 2-year terms. Terms are renewable, but rotation is strongly encouraged.
- 6. (a) From the two Co-Chairs, one will act as the General Chair (GC) for a 2-year term.
 - **(b)** The decision regarding the GC selection is made by members of the OSE Graduate Committee, subject to approval by the Department Chairs.
 - **(c)** After each term, it is recommended and desirable (but not necessary) that the GC position alternates between the two departments. However, factors such as lack of committed personnel or the fraction of OSE graduate students in each department should be considered in the GC appointment.
- **7.** Responsibilities of the General Chair:
 - (a) Call for the regular committee meetings
 - (b) Call for general optics faculty meetings
 - (c) Prepare agenda of meetings
 - (d) Organize PhD comprehensive exams
 - (e) Maintain the OSE main webpage
 - (f) Coordinate program advertisement

- **8.** Responsibilities of *Co-Chairs*:
 - (a) Represent the program within their respective departments (including graduate handbook, web presence, etc.)
 - (b) Maintain links from departmental webpages to the OSE main webpage
 - (c) Coordinate admission within their respective departments
 - (d) Work with the graduate advisors in their respective departments to keep student files, etc.
 - (e) Organize and coordinate student advisement within their respective departments
 - (f) Arrange and coordinate teaching assignments for the core and required courses in each department
 - (g) Implement the "OSE Comprehensive Exam Policy" in their respective departments
 - **(h)** Implement the "OSE Graduate Program Policy" in their respective departments.
- **9.** Any of the two Co-Chairs can call for a meeting to address an urgent issue.
- 10. Changes to OSE academic programs can only be made with a simple majority vote of all optics faculty and the approval of the two department chairs, and should not be made more frequently than once a year.
- **11.** The teaching schedule is reviewed once a year and approved by the Department Chairs. Both department will strive to achieve parity in teaching load and will share in course offering as described in the OSE curriculum. The mandatory courses should be taught preferably by regular faculty members.
- **12.** The admission of new students into the program is the responsibility of the Co-Chairs and the departmental subcommittees. There will be at least one meeting of the full committee each semester for exchanging information and redirecting of students.
- **13.** In order to acquire validity, this Constitution and any future amendments will have to be approved by a two-thirds majority vote of all the optics faculty, and ratified by chairs of both departments.

Signatures

Bernd Bassalleck, Professor Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy Date: Christos Christodoulou, Professor Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Date:

Mansoor Sheik-Bahae, Professor OSE, General Chair, P&A Date:

Marek Osinski, Professor OSE, co-Chair, EECE Date: